This is the "Home" page of the "History 8: Religions Paper" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

History 8: Religions Paper  

Last Updated: May 11, 2017 URL: http://hackley.libguides.com/religions Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Avoid Plagiarism - Writing Help

Use Noodle Tools to write your bibliography.

Learn how to include quotations in your paper.

Learn how to summarize and paraphrase your research in your paper.

Learn how to document your sources within your paper (MLA style parenthetical citations.)

Learn more about how to document your sources within your paper.

Overall guide to the Steps in Writing a Research a Paper.

 

Parenthetical Citations Presentations

Below is the presentation Mrs. Judkins gave in class about Parenthetical Citations and formatting quotations. There is also a presentation about common mistakes that students made in past years.

 

Databases

Gale Virtual Reference Library: EVERYONE SHOULD USE THIS DATABASE! This is a collection of reference eBooks. Once you get to the site, click on the "Religion" section on the left-hand side to find 10 different encyclopedias to search. Mrs. Judkins highly recommends that you search "The Encylopedia of Religion" as your first step.

World Religions Online: An excellent database just on religion.

World Religions: Belief, Culture, and Controversy: This database is more of a "textbook of religion" as it only has one article per topic. The articles are good introductions.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context: Use this if you are doing a "controversial" or "pro/con" issue dealing with religion or for current events issues.

General OneFile: This is a database of newspaper and magazine articles. Use for current events or topics that are from the last 20 years or so.

Biography in Context: If you are researching individual people, be sure to use this database.

Encyclopedia Britannica Online: Once you login click on "High School."

World History in Context: Once you do a search, look on the left hand side for "Related Topics" - you will usually see an alternative spelling and will be able to click on the word to make sure you are getting all of the articles on the topic.

In case you still haven't found what you need:

All Middle School Databases

All Upper School Databases

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Ms. Judkins
Contact Info
Sternberg Library
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip