This is the "Home" page of the "Middle School Debate" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Middle School Debate  

Last Updated: Apr 11, 2012 URL: http://hackley.libguides.com/msdebate Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Hackley Databases

Opposing Viewpoints in Context

Perfect for debate research. Includes pro/con essays.

Kids Search

This database will give you articles from magazines written for middle school students (easy to understand!) Keep your search very simple (nuclear power, Afghanistan, homework, or television. There is nothing on Governor Cuomo in this database.) To enter the database you might need to enter your username and password that you use to log on to the school computers. Once you are at the screen to select the database, choose "Kids Search."

Student Resources in Context

This database contains articles from references books, newspapers, and magazines. Again, keep your searches simple. Good overviews can be found in magazine articles. The most recent happenings (especially important for Afghanistan and Governor Cuomo) can be found in newspaper articles.

 

Topics

States Should Allow Cell Phone Use in Prison

National Institute of Justice: Cell Phones in Prisons

Time Magazine: Trying to Keep Cell Phones Out of Prisons

Allowing Phones in the Cells Might Be a Sound Call: LA Times article

The US should televise the executions of condemned prisoners.

Why Executions Should Be Televised: New York Times opinion piece.

Reflections on Televised Executions

Students should be allowed to carry registered guns on a college/university campus.

Students for Concealed Carry: Tons of articles and resources!

Campaign to Keep Guns Off Campus

States should require drug tests to receive welfare benefits.

Should Welfare Recepients Be Tested for Drugs?: US News and World Report debate feature. Look at the arguments of the experts at the bottom of the page - both pro and con.

Tax increases are good for America.

Good Reasons for Taxes: from the Brookings Institute

Obama Tax Hikes: Bad for All Americans: from the Heritage Foundation


The US should establish a national DNA database of all residents. 

To Stop Crime, Share Your Genes: New York Times opinion piece about creating a national DNA database.

Create a National DNA Database?: New York Times letters in response (mostly with reasons against) to the above article

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Ms. Judkins
Contact Info
Sternberg Library
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip