This is the "Middle School Databases" page of the "Middle School Databases" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Middle School Databases  

Last Updated: Mar 8, 2017 URL: http://hackley.libguides.com/msdatabases Print Guide RSS Updates
Middle School Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Research Help

This page cotains Hackley databases that are good for Middle School students. If you are asked for a username and password you should enter the username and password that you use to logon to the computers at Hackley.

  • Remember to use NoodleTools to create your bibliography or works cited page. Unless told otherwise, always choose MLA Advanced.
  • If you don't see what you need here, go to the page that lists all Hackley databases.
  • For specific projects check to see if there is a LibGuides page that will provide the most appropriate databases and websites for the project.
  • Don't forget to check the Hackley Sternberg Library Catalog to see if there are books on your topic.
 

General Research Databases

Explora Primary School is a general database for lower and middle school students with articles from magazines and reference books. All articles are given a reading level so students can quickly see if the article is written at their level.

General OneFile is a general database for older students with news articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. 
World Book Online contains thousands of articles and extensive multimedia tailored for students in elementary and middle schools. 
Britannica Online includes three levels of encyclopedias. Compton's Encyclopedia is specifically written for middle school students and Encyclopaedia Britannica, often considered the best encyclopedia source, is available for more in-depth articles.

Biography In Context is the best place to find authoritative biographies on notable figures in literature, science, history, government, business, art, religion, entertainment, sports and much more. 
Opposing Viewpoints in Context covers hot social issues - from Childhood Obesity to School Uniforms, Climate Change to the Internet. This is the perfect database for debate research.
National Geographic Kids includes every issue of the magazine since 2009 as well as over 200 National Geographic Kids books. You can also search the National Geographic: People, Animals, and the World and National Geographic Virtual Library by clicking here.

 

 

Modern Language Encyclopedias

Spanish Reference Center includes Britannica Escolar, a Spanish language reference site for elementary and middle school students that provides access to a Spanish language encyclopedia, dictionary, and activities.
Enciclopedia Estudiantl Hallazgos is the Spanish language version of World Book Student. In addition to articles it includes multimedia content and interactive activities in Spanish.
L'Encyclopédie Découverte is the French language version of World Book Student. In addition to articles it includes multimedia content and interactive activities in French.
 

Science and Health Databases

Science Online provides complete coverage of all scientific disciplines, in-depth articles on current scientific research, more than 1,100 science experiments, and access to more than 7,400 diagrams and images.
Teen Health & Wellness provides resources on topics including diseases, drugs, alcohol, nutrition, fitness, mental health, diversity, family life, and more. All content is reviewed by leading professionals in medicine, mental health, nutrition, guidance, and career counseling.
Gale Virtual Reference Library provides access to specialized reference books selected specifically for Hackley research projects. Titles of interest to middle school science students include UXL Encyclopedia of Biomes and UXL Complete Life Science Resource.
 

History and Social Studies Databases

Gale World History in Context Brings together a comprehensive collection of full-text periodicals, reference works, primary documents and scholarly analysis on all history topics.
U.S. History in Context provides a complete overview of U.S. history that covers the most-studied events, issues and current information.

ABC-CLIO American History is a survey of American history from 1350 to the present, organized chronologically and thematically, linking nearly 15,000 primary and secondary sources.

ABC-CLIO World History: Ancient and Medieval Eras covers human history in all corners of the globe - from prehistoric times to the beginnings of the Renaissance - linking nearly 6,600 primary and secondary sources.

ABC-CLIO World History: The Modern Era provides in-depth coverage, using thousands of primary and secondary sources, of the history of all regions of the world from 1500 to the present.

ABC-CLIO Daily Life through History gives details about every day life from ancient times to the present day. What did people eat or wear? What did they do for fun? What were family structures like? This is an excellent source that will help you put history in perspective.
ABC-CLIO World Geography features overviews of countries and in-depth analysis of current global issues.

Gale Virtual Reference Library provides access to specialized reference books selected specifically for Hackley research projects. Titles of interest to middle school students include Dictionary of American History, Middle Ages Reference Library, The Middle Ages: An Encyclopedia for Students, Junior Worldmark Encyclopedia of World Cultures, Worldmark Encyclopedia of Religious Practices, and Enclyclopedia of Religion.
World Religions Online is an unbiased, comprehensive guide to the world's major religions and spiritual traditions.
ABC-CLIO World Religions: Belief, Culture, and Controversy is a comprehensive reference source that provides a virtual textbook that covers religion across the globe.

 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip