This is the "Databases A to Z" page of the "Databases" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Databases  

Last Updated: Mar 8, 2017 URL: http://hackley.libguides.com/Databases Print Guide RSS Updates

Databases A to Z Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Search All Databases

EBSCO Discovery Service
Limit Your Results
 

NoodleTools

Use NoodleTools to create bibliographies and works cited pages for your research assignments. Unless told otherwise, always choose MLA Advanced. If you have questions see any of the Hackley librarians.
 

A

Academic OneFile is the premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. Updated daily.
American History Online looks at U.S. and Canadian history from pre-colonial times to the present.

Academic Search Premier

Academic Search Premier contains unmatched full-text coverage in biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion & theology, etc. It includes indexing and abstracts for over 8,450 journals, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles; additionally, PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
The African American Studies Center combines the authority of carefully edited reference works with sophisticated technology to create the most comprehensive collection of scholarship available online to focus on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture.
 

B

Biography in Context is your one-stop, authoritative resource for biographies on notable figures in literature, science, history, government, business, art, gender and multicultural studies, religion, entertainment, sports and much more.
Bloom's Literary Reference Online focuses on the lives and works of great writers throughout history; it also contains information on thousands of authors and their works, as well as 35,000 characters, an extensive glossary and more.
 

C

Columbia-Granger's World of Poetry is your source for the full text of poems, poets’ biographies, and commentaries on poems and poets.
 

D

Daily Life through History gives details about every day life from ancient times to the present. What did people eat or wear?  What did they do for fun? What were family structures like? This is an excellent source that will help you put history into perspective.
Discovery Education Streaming Plus features a collection of more than 160,000 educational videos. You need to use your Hackley network ID and password to access the site.

 

 

E

Considered the best encyclopedia source, Encyclopaedia Britannica includes multimedia and primary sources along with general articles.
A collection of over 800 journals and 6 subject specific Delmar reference titles provide robust coverage of Environmental Issues and Policies, including diverse perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policy makers, as well as corporate interests.
From arts and the humanities to social sciences, science and technology, Expanded Academic ASAP meets research needs across all academic disciplines. Access scholarly journals, news magazines, and newspapers - many with full text and images!
 

F

With more than 100 full-text magazines and journals covered in databases such as the Wilson Art Index and RILM, the Fine Arts & Music Collection will provide your students with resources to support research in areas such as drama, music, art history, and filmmaking.
 

G

Gale Virtual Reference Library gives you access to eBooks that have been carefully selected by the Hackley librarians to support the research projects of Hackley students. Many of these eBooks are multi-volume encyclopedias on specific topics such as world religions and Latin American history. 
General OneFile is your  one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily.
GreenFILE Online is comprised of scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports, GreenFILE offers a unique perspective on the positive and negative ways humans affect the ecology.
 

H

This multi-source database provides access to the full text of nursing and allied health journals, plus the wide variety of personal health information sources in InfoTrac's award-winning Health Reference Center. All in a single, easy-to-use database, the material contained in this database is intended for informational purposes only.

Historical New York Times

Use the Historical New York Times database to search back issues of the New York Times from 1851 - 2012.  For articles dating from 2012 to the present day, go to InfoTrac Newsstand.
 

I

InfoTrac Newsstand is a full-text newspaper database which allows users to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, newspaper section or other assigned fields. This database has been customized to include several New York State newspapers for coverage of state news and issues.

****This is the database to use to get current, full-text articles from the New York Times****

 

J

JSTOR's full-text archive of over 1000 journals contains a broad range of scholarly journals in the arts, sciences, humanities, and social sciences.
 

N

Nature publishes the finest peer-reviewed research in all fields of science and technology and is the world's foremost international weekley scientific journal. (This is high-level research. Students doing this level of science research should also look at the Scientific American and Science Direct databases.)
National Geographic Virtual Library brings together a complete archive of National Geographic magazine — every page of every issue — along with a cross-searchable collection of National Geographic books, maps, images and videos. Additionally there is access to the National Geographic Kids and National Geographic: People, Animals, and the World databases for younger students.
 

O

 

Opposing Viewpoints in Context covers today's hottest social issues. From Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration - this is the database to use to research and analyze issues from all perspectives.

 

The Oxford English Dictionary is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books.

 

P

Popular Magazines includes 1000 of the most searched magazines across our InfoTrac products. All the titles were selected based on actual publication searches performed by library patrons. This database is 100% full text and includes over 600 titles recommended by Bowker's "Magazines for Libraries". Titles like Consumer Reports, Time, National Geographic, The New Yorker, Newsweek, Vanity Fair, US News and World Report, Vogue, Fortune, Business Week, National Review, Cosmopolitan, NPR and even Oprah are included in this database.
 

S

Science provides full-text access to Science (magazine) from 1997-present and Science Classic from 1880-1996. Science features peer-reviewed, original scientific research articles and reports, science and research news, as well as policy forums and perspectives on current topics.

ScienceDirect is a leading database of peer-reviewed science, technology and health information trusted by researchers, teachers and students around the globe. ***This database is meant for college students and science researchers and should be used to gain in-depth information on a topic you already know a lot about.***
Science Online includes science experiments, science projects, historical inventions.
Scientific American focuses on how science and technology shape our future. With an expertise for pinpointing emerging trends, Scientific American covers important ideas early and helps individuals who are searching for answers to today's most challenging and complex questions.  
Spanish Reference Center by Encyclopaedia Britannica includes Encyclopedia Moderna, a Spanish encyclopedia for high school students and adults.
 

T

Teen Health and Wellness is a comprehensive database that allows teens (and those who care about teens) to research health-related issues important to their well-being.
Twayne's Authors Series of literary criticism offers in-depth introductions to the lives and works of writers, the history and influence of literary movements, and the development of literary genres.
 

U

U.S. History in Context provides a complete overview of U.S. history that covers the most-studied events, issues and current information. It combines documents from digital archives; articles from Macmillan Reference and Charles Scribner’s Sons references; as well as other Gale content such as country and era overview information, and full-text periodicals and journals. 
 

W

World Geography features overviews of countries and in-depth analysis of current global issues.
World History in Context features extensive coverage of the 20th century, including the Ancient Mediterranean, Ancient Near East and Asia as well as the Middle Ages, the Renaissance, the modern Middle East and Latin America. Moving chronologically from antiquity to the present and geographically around the globe, the events that define, inform and shape world history are covered with a sense of balance.
World History: Ancient and Medieval Eras covers early human history around the globe—from prehistoric times to the beginnings of the Renaissance.
World History: Modern Era covers the world from 1450 to the present.
World Religions Online is an unbiased, comprehensive guide to the world's major religions and spiritual traditions.
World Religions: Belief, Culture, and Controversy is a comprehensive reference source that provides a virtual textbook that covers religion across the globe.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip