This is the "Home" page of the "History 9: 1350s Project" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

History 9: 1350s Project   Tags: americas, europe, history, religion  

Last Updated: Oct 20, 2011 URL: http://hackley.libguides.com/1350s Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

General Search Help

Use the name of the city or country to start, but also use names of important people or events to help you find good sources. When you use the library catalog (also called the OPAC in libraries, formerly known as a "card catalog") or your library's database subscriptions, you need to think a little differently than you do on the web with search engines like Google. Many keyword searches - and you must be specific when setting limiters - do not aggregate or intuit the way Google or other search engines do. Think simple, think broad, and if search term combinations don't work, separate them and use them exclusively. You have to slow down, and actively think more to best use many databases. Anything is available on the web, but anything is not everything. 

For example: "english history" might not be the best term to use when searching for a book at Hackley for this assignment; "England" or "Florence" is better. When using a database such as the catalog, go from broad to narrow when you brainstorm search terms. When you're "googling," you can more powerfully combine specific terms right at the start...but try Google Advanced Search, and use limiters. You may be surprised by how much time or energy you save. 

First: Search Sternberg Library Catalog (OPAC) for books on your topic.  

Then: Use the Hackley library databases to expand on that information (see Databases box under the Research Phase tab for the best databases for this project.)

Finally: Use the internet to find valuable sources.  Remember, these may be the most difficult for you to assess in terms of accuracy and bias, so check with a librarian or your teacher for additional insights into evaluating or "trusting" a source. Wikipedia is a resource that can be quite scholarly and informative, but it can also be worthless. You know why that is, so don't call it a source and put it in your bibliography! It's a starting point, a platform...an online encyclopedia anyone can edit; in Wikipedia, use the articles' bibliographies to check actual sources.

As always, use your local public library to find additional print resources.

CITING SOURCES: Use NoodleTools to create your bibliography

 

Topics

  • 1333      Mali                  
  • 1340      Al Andalus       
  • 1345      Mesoamerica   
  • 1350      Spain                                     
  • 1351      China                 
  • 1356      England
  • 1356      HR Empire  
  • 1368      China         
  • 1369      Netherlands 
  • 1378      The Papal States 
  • 1378      Florence  
  • 1415      Portugal    
  • 1415      England 
  • 1415      HR Empire            
  • 1429      France                  
  • 1440      Benin   
  • 1455      England                
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip